Liebster Award

Featured image

It feels like it has been forever since I posted.  You would think that being on summer break would allow me to post more often, but with filling out applications for a new job and going on a family vacay this past weekend, it has been a little difficult to get all the reading done that I would like to get done.

Moving on. . . Thank you very much to my wonderful sister, Vicki, over at Between Pages for nominating me for the Liebster Award a few  weeks ago.  Make sure to check out her blog, here! It is full of really fun book reviews and other super entertaining posts.

Featured image

Questions I Was Given

  1. What are your top 5 favorite series of all time?

In no particular order. . .

**Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

**The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

**The Grisha Series by Leigh Bardugo

**The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series by Laini Taylor

**The Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

Note: The only reason the Maze Runner Series does not reside on this list is because I haven’t finished it yet.  I am in the middle of it right now.

  1. What book do you love that most people seem to hate?

This one definitely has to be The Da Vinci Code.  So many people hate this book and movie, and, I agree, the movie is terrible.  But, I love this book!  It is just fun and entertaining, and I always love a good conspiracy theory.

  1. What genres of books do enjoy reading the most?

I love reading YA fiction.  I don’t have a favorite YA genre, but most of the YA books I own would fall in the fantasy category.  I love reading what my students read.  And I like it even more when I have conversations with my students and they get really excited about recommending their favorite YA novels to me.

  1. Whose story do you want to hear more of after a book/series finished?

I always want to learn more about the secondary characters.  What happens to them during the story that we don’t get to see because we are too busy paying attention to the main characters.  Or what happens to the secondary characters once the story ends for our main characters.  It is one of the reasons I love the fact that Laini Taylor wrote Night of Cake and Puppets as an addition to her Daughter of Smoke and Bone series because we, as readers, get to see what happens to the secondary characters in the story when we are too caught up in the main characters and what is going on with them.  It gives an insight into the relationship of two secondary characters that we wouldn’t normally get to see.

  1. If you could live in any fantasy world, which would you choose and why?

If I could live in a fantasy world, I would choose Middle Earth, and more specifically, Hobbiton.  My roommate and I already joke that we are hobbits.  We even named our apartment just like hobbits do for their hobbit holes.  Hobbiton is so beautiful and green, and like Samwise, I don’t need much to be happy.

  1. Do you eat while reading or do you fear for your book?

I’ll eat while I’m reading, but with a real book that’s hard, so I try to avoid reading while eating with a real book.  I’m pretty careful when I eat and read.  If I’m reading a book on my phone or iPad, I definitely read while I’m eating.  Besides, it allows my anti-social side to take over, especially when I’m at work and I just really need a break from people.

  1. What are your top 3 books you have read so far this year?

The Wrath and the Dawn, review here.

An Ember in the Ashes, review here.

A Court of Thorns and Roses, review here.

The first two are debuts from very talented authors, and are probably a couple of the best debut novels I’ve read.  All three books are the first books in series, and I am super excited for the next book in each series to come out.

  1. What is your favorite book to movie adaptation?

I just finished The Maze Runner by James Dashner and I have to say that it is probably the best book to movie I’ve seen in a while, but my favorite book to movie adaptation has to be the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

It was so well done and on a majorly epic scale.  Yes, some of people’s favorite characters were left out, like Tom Bombadil, but personally, (and you can all get mad at me for this, that’s fine) Tom Bombadil annoys the crap out of me.  I have never understood why people like him so much.

An honorable mention has to go to Insurgent by Veronica Roth as one of my more recent favorite book to movie adaptations due to the fact that the screenwriters were able to take a book that dragged on for no reason and turned it into a really entertaining movie that didn’t leave out any of the essential information.

  1. What author would you most like to meet and why?

This question is ridiculously hard, so I am going to cheat by giving two answers, one author who is alive and one who is dead because how can you give just one author with this question?

The author who is currently alive that I would want to meet is probably John Green.  I know, it seems super obvious, and what person most interested in YA fiction wouldn’t want to meet John Green?  But, as someone who works with teenagers on a daily basis as part of her job and through volunteer work, I want to know how he gets into the mind of a teenager so well.  I also want to ask him about all the things he does with Nerdfighteria and how he got started with all those things.

The author who is dead that I would want to meet is J.R.R. Tolkien.  I read a really great biography on him, and learned so much about everything he did outside of writing the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings.  I would want to ask him about all of those things.  The languages that he developed and how he became interested in linguistics.

  1. If you could become a character in a book who would you choose and why?

I would want to be Shahrzad in The Wrath and the Dawn. Although the world that she lives in a cruel one, Shahrzad has many of the qualities that I wish I had.  She is quietly strong, but at the same time, can be gentle when she needs to be.  She cares for those around her when they truly need it .  And she follows her heart, which I am not very good at doing, my head has a tendency to get in the way.

  1. What book are you most looking forward to being released this year?

I’m super excited for a book called Air Awakens. It’s a debut from Elise Kova.  I joined her street team earlier this year and have been promoting her book on my blog and just about every other other social media platform I’m on.  It’s a YA fantasy novel about a library apprentice and a sorcerer and the part the library apprentice plays in the future of the world.  It comes out August 20th.  You can pre-order it by clicking here.

11 Random Facts About Me

**I am a huge sports fan, from hockey all the way to ballet, and yes, I consider dance a sport.

**Speaking of dance, I was a dancer for 13 years.

**I am a total beer snob.

**If I could wear yoga pants every day of the week, I would.

**I had a brain aneurysm at the age of 16.

**I majored in history in college, because you can do so much with a history degree.  ::Rolls eyes::

**I currently have 3 bookshelves.  One for all my books from my undergrad and graduate degrees, one for YA fiction and one for all other books.  In my mind, this is not enough bookshelves.

**I currently work at the same high school I attended as a student.

**My Chromebook (the computer I use most) has a skin on it dedicated to fantasy themes and books, and it is awesome.

Chromebook Cover

**I collect Stephen King books.

**I just back from a vacation in Florida, and the weather at home is over 30 degrees cooler than it was in Florida.

My nominees for the Liebster Award are. . .

Bookshelves & Paperbacks

Girl in Bookland

Radiant Reads

Skipping Through the Stacks

allthingswordy

Azmi’s Amygdalae

Authorkdrose

#LoveBooks

Heart Full of Books

ScribbledImagination

The Sleepy Booknerd

Your questions are the following. . .

  1. What are you top five books or book series of all time?
  1. Do you have a favorite genre to read and why do you prefer that genre?  If you don’t have a favorite genre, what is it that you like about jumping around from genre to genre?
  1. What book would you most recommend to a good friend of yours?
  1. If you had the chance to be any character from a book you’ve read, which character would you be and why?
  1. If you could live in any book, which one would it be and why?
  1. What 3 authors would you most like to meet?  (Yes, they can be dead or alive.)
  1. What book are you most looking forward to reading this year?
  1. In which format (hardcover, paperback, ebook) do you most like to read books in and why?
  1. What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
  1. Where is your favorite place to read and why?

11.  What inspired you to start a blog?

I can’t wait to hear from you all.  I hope you have as much fun with this as I did.  Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

