Air Awakens

Air Awakens

Air Awakens

Wow.  There are just not enough words right now to express how excited I am about Air Awakens.  Ok, well, maybe there are, but at this point they are just a jumbled mess in my brain.

crazy eyes

Hold please. . .

*

**

***

****

*****

Ok. Now I can start.  This new release from debut YA author Elise Kova is a beautifully written piece of art.  The story is an exciting one.  Not to mention the cover art is just absolutely stunning, and her characters are wonderfully crafted. They are complex, they are strong, and they are beautifully developed.  

Vhalla Yarl, a library apprentice, starts off as a small, somewhat timid girl who loves her books.  Yet, as the story goes on, and as all good characters do, she grows into so much more.  She becomes this beautiful strong woman who stands up for what and who she believes in.  In addition to all that, she’s got some great sass, and doesn’t always know when to keep her mouth shut, which makes me love her even more.

Vhalla

Prince Aldrik, what to say about him, and, don’t worry, I won’t say much, he is really so much better to read about.  I wouldn’t be doing him nearly enough justice.  But, I will say this, he is probably one of the most frustrating, yet, deeply satisfying book boyfriends I will ever have.

23 Apr 2014, Toronto, Ontario, Canada --- Tom Hiddleston is all Smiles wearing a Tuxedo on set of "Crimson Peak" in Toronto, Canada. Tom Hiddleston plays the role of "Sir Thomas Sharpe" in Crimson Peak and they were filming a Ballroom scene today. That's why Tom was wearing a Black Tuxedo, with white gloves, and a white bow tie. Pictured: Tom Hiddleston --- Image by © S Fernandez/Splash News/Corbis

But, I digress, back to the story we go.  It moves at a lightning pace from page 1, and it just never stops.  The language Elise Kova uses is, at times, almost poetic.  For example, here is a line from a letter that is written to Vhalla near the beginning of the novel.

“Not true power, but like an inky fingerprint upon a blank page.”

The way the characters were written, especially Vhalla, along with the fact that she had a deep love for books allowed me to feel a personal connection with the main character that I don’t think I have ever had with a book character before.  There is a description about what it feels like for Vhalla to hold a book again after several days of not being around them that just resonated with me.  It goes something like this:

**It was like a breath of fresh air.  Something about holding a book again made her feel better.**

I know this post is not long and there is so much more I could say, but that would require me to warn you about spoilers, and the like.  At this point in the day because it is the day before the book is being released in the US, it is really just easier for me to say to you that it is definitely worth the read and that you should just buy it.  Also, no I am not just saying that because I am on the Street Team for this book.  I am telling you this because I actually mean it.  You should get it the minute that it is available.  It is actually already available on Amazon UK.  And it will be available in the US very shortly.  See my previous post for all the places you can get it.

5 thoughts on “Air Awakens

  1. Pingback: Air Awakens is Out! Go Read!

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday. November 11, 2015 | Unironically Excited

  3. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Earth’s End, Q&A with the author and cover artist, and a GIVEAWAY!! | Unironically Excited

  4. Okay, I haven’t finished reading your review of the second book yet but that was on purpose. Once I started, I felt compelled to read what you thought of the first. I MUST get these books. These definitely seem like reads up my alley and I look forward to how they will unfold.

    So glad I found this!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Earth’s End Book Blitz & GIVEAWAY! and EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT | Unironically Excited

Leave a Reply

