The Maze Runner Series

The Maze Runner Series

Synopsis

The Maze Runner

Mazerunner

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

The Scorch Trials

The_Scorch_Trials_cover

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.

There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.

The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.

The Death Cure

The_Death_Cure

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

First Impressions

Ok.  So I did that thing.  That thing that I hate that people do, and most of the time swear to myself that I will never do it.  I read the book because I saw the movie.  Yes, I saw the movie first and then I read the book.  You know, that thing, that thing that when you talk to teenagers or other readers of YA, they get mad you at you for seeing the movie before reading the book because the movie will inevitably be terrible and the book will inevitably be better than the movie.  Well, yep, I did that thing.  

Review

In this case, I am both glad that I decided to read the books and not so glad that I decided to read them.  

I chose to do a book review on the whole series at the same time because I don’t really have much to say about each book.  I will try to break down each book the best I can in this review, so that it makes sense.

So let’s start with Book #1, The Maze Runner.  I really enjoyed this book.  It was entertaining and definitely rivaled the movie, but I don’t necessarily think it was better than the movie.  Maybe I think this because I saw the movie first, that’s possible.

Unfortunately, I don’t think there were critical storylines or huge plot holes that I thought were missing in the movie that existed in the book.  The end of the movie is pretty different from the book, but that all has to do with what is possible to do in real life.  Based on what I saw in the movie to what I read in the book they were both extremely entertaining and I am so glad that I decided to read and see both the book and the movie.

Onto Book #2, The Scorch Trials.  I had the hardest time getting through this book.  It dragged on and on for me.  There was really very little character development in this book.  Now, I understand that most development happens with the characters tends to happen early, but I just found all characters to be very stagnant in this book.  They kept their same roles with the exception of Thomas who started to become more of a leader in this book.  

It will be interesting to see what they do with the movie because from what I can see in the previews, there are definitely quite a few things that are different, but I could be wrong, it can be awfully hard to tell with movie previews.

And, finally, Book #3, The Death Cure.  This one was just ok.  I found the beginning to be very much like The Scorch Trials.  I was a bit bored, but as I got closer to the end and Thomas goes to WICKED’s headquarters, I got more and more into the book because it got more exciting. Again, we will see what they do with the movie.  I’m looking forward to it.

Final Thoughts

Clearly, overall, I enjoyed The Maze Runner movie more than I enjoyed the series.  It will be interesting to see if I continue to enjoy the movies.  I was sad that I didn’t like the books because so many people that I know loved these books, but I guess that happens sometimes.  I also never thought that I would say that I would like a movie more than I liked the book, but I suppose there is a first time for everything.

Sorry I couldn’t bring a more positive review. . . but, as always. . . Read On!

One thought on “The Maze Runner Series

  1. Pingback: The Scorch Trials. . . Movie | Unironically Excited

Leave a Reply

