WWW Wednesday. November 11, 2015

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday, November 11, 2015

I’m starting a new weekly post called WWW Wednesday (clearly…). It is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. Go check her out blog, it’s great!  Each week I will answer the following three questions about what is happening in my book world.

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you are going to read next?

So, here we go.

What are you currently reading?

TKAM

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I’m currently reading this because I work in a school with high school Freshmen. Every freshman reads this book.  It is interesting rereading this book as an adult compared to when I read as a high school freshman. I am noticing so many more things that I really couldn’t have cared less about when I was in school.  I am realizing just how big of an impact this book has had since it was published. We will move through it slowly. Right now, we are about to read through Chapter 4 so we are definitely still at the very beginning, and already I am noticing so many things about Scout that probably didn’t even register when I was reading it the first time through. If you read this as a teenager, it is definitely worth a reread as an adult, and if you have never read it. I highly recommend it.

Air Awakens

Air Awakens by Elise Kova

This is another reread in anticipation of the release of the sequel, Fire Falling, on November 19th.  Only 9 days away!!  I’m so excited!! You can check out my full review of Air Awakens here.  This book is the epitome of YA fantasy in a remarkably good way. Vhalla, the main character, is a library apprentice who discovers she is destined for bigger things than the library. Aldrik, the crowned prince, helps her to discover what that destiny could potentially be. The characters are beautifully written and the story, oh my gosh, the story! I can’t even! I’m so excited for Fire Falling. Based on the reviews I’ve read so far it is going to be better than the first and I CANNOT wait!  Oh my, I almost forgot!! Also, keep an eye out over the next week or so.  The cover reveal for the third book in the series is November 15th, and I’ll have a post up for that as well. So many exciting things!!

Last, but definitely not least,

six of crows

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

     I am ashamed to say that I have been reading this book for awhile. It definitely was not because the book wasn’t good. This book so far is amazing!! If you read my November TBR post,which can be found here, you will see that I was just a total slacker during the month of October in regards to books. I have about 30 pages left in this book, I plan to finish it today and have the review up by this weekend, so be on the lookout for that. I’m super excited to write the review for Six of Crows.  So many ideas!!!

What did you recently finish reading?

grey

Grey by E.L James

This is Fifty Shades of Grey from Christian Grey’s perspective.  It was ok. Nothing special, but I thought it was definitely better than the story from Ana’s perspective.  Ana’s perspective was so whiny, and her goddess inside her head got super weird at times, definitely to the point where it was comical. Despite the fact that I dislike the story from Ana’s perspective, if you are planning on reading Grey and haven’t read Fifty Shades yet; I would definitely start with Fifty Shades.  There are pieces of the story that you miss if you read Grey without having read Fifty Shades.

What do you think you’ll read next?

(All synopses are from Goodreads)

Fire-Falling-Cover

Fire Falling by Elise Kova

Soldier… Sorcerer… Savior… Who is Vhalla Yarl?

Vhalla Yarl marches to war as property of the Solaris Empire. The Emperor counts on her to bring victory, the Senate counts on her death, and the only thing Vhalla can count on is the fight of her life. As she grapples with the ghosts of her past, new challenges in the present threaten to shatter the remnants of her fragile sanity. Will she maintain her humanity? Or will she truly become the Empire’s monster?

Fire Falling is the second book in the Air Awakens Series.

     The beginning of this post in my discussion about Air Awakens pretty much explains why I want to read this book. . . SO EXCITED!!

crystallum

Crystallum by Laney McMann

Kadence Sparrow wasn’t born a devil’s child—she was turned into one. Now, she’s hiding from the truth, and running for her life.

For years, Kade’s true nature has lurked behind an illusion, so when her dad gets another job transfer, she knows the drill: no close friends, no boyfriends, and most importantly: don’t expose what she is. Ever. Keeping secrets is easy. Lies are second nature. So is the loneliness—and the fear, but when the Shadows attack, and Kade meets Cole Spires, she could expose everything she’s trying to hide.

As one of the Celestial Children, Cole lives by an oath: defend the Ward, protect the Primordial race, guard the gateways, and stick to his own. Everything else is a distraction, and besides, he’s lost enough. Cole’s job is clear, and no one his age does it better. So, when he meets Kade in a club downtown, he assumes she just wants his attention. Most girls do, but Cole soon realizes … Kade isn’t like most girls.

The children of heaven and hell are living among us, fighting an age-old war. And falling for someone from the opposition is not an option. But a chance encounter between Kade and Cole will blur the rules, as Kade’s journey to keep her truth hidden catapults them together and into a web of lies, forcing her to not only face the demon inside her, but to answer the hardest question of all.

Which is thicker—blood or water?

     I chose to read this book because I am trying to revive my NetGalley account.  I kind of ignored it throughout the summer when I was trying to read the Maze Runner series, and now I want to get back in it again.I chose this one because I really enjoyed the Fallen series by Lauren Kate and this sounded a little like that, and who doesn’t like a hell vs. heaven story.  Good vs. evil is such a prevalent concept in media and our society, so I always like to get a take on it from an author’s world and perspective.

sleeper and spindle

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman

A thrillingly reimagined fairy tale from the truly magical combination of author Neil Gaiman and illustrator Chris Riddell – weaving together a sort-of Snow White and an almost Sleeping Beauty with a thread of dark magic, which will hold readers spellbound from start to finish.

On the eve of her wedding, a young queen sets out to rescue a princess from an enchantment. She casts aside her fine wedding clothes, takes her chain mail and her sword and follows her brave dwarf retainers into the tunnels under the mountain towards the sleeping kingdom. This queen will decide her own future – and the princess who needs rescuing is not quite what she seems. Twisting together the familiar and the new, this perfectly delicious, captivating and darkly funny tale shows its creators at the peak of their talents.

Lavishly produced, packed with glorious Chris Riddell illustrations enhanced with metallic ink, this is a spectacular and magical gift.

     I have been wanting to read Neil Gaiman forever, and other books just keep getting in the way.  I saw this one as I was sifting through Amazon recommendations, and was so taken by the beautiful illustrations I knew I just had to read it. Plus, I’m a huge fan of fairy tale adaptations, and if it is done by Neil Gaiman, how can it not be good?

I can’t wait to hear what the rest of you are reading!! Let me know in the comments.

Happy Reading!
Erin

One thought on “WWW Wednesday. November 11, 2015

  1. Welcome to WWW Wednesday! I hope you enjoy the re-read of TKaM. I loved it in high school but I’ve never had time to re-read it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

