Girl of Myth and Legend

girl of myth and legend

Girl of Myth and Legend

I got an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you to WWS Publishing Ltd.

Synopsis

A girl with a past she tries to forget, and a future she can’t even imagine.

Leonie Woodville wants to live an unremarkable life. She wants routine, she wants repetition, she wants predictability. So when she explodes in a blaze of light one morning on the way to her college, it’s enough to put a real crimp in her day.

And things only get weirder…

Leonie learns from her father that she is last of the Pulsar, a phenomenally powerful member of a magical species called the Chosen. It will be her sole duty to protect the Imperium, a governing hierarchy, from all enemies, and to exceed the reputation of the Pulsar before her. So – no pressure there, then.

Leonie is swept away from her rigorous normality and taken to a world of magic. There, she is forced into a ceremony to join her soul to a guardian, Korren, who is both incredibly handsome and intensely troubled, a relationship for which ‘it’s complicated’ just really doesn’t cut it.

But Leonie is soon to learn that this ancient world is no paradise. With violent dissidents intent to overthrow the Imperium, and dark entities with their own agenda, she and Korren find themselves caught in a war where they will have to overcome their differences if they are to survive.

Dare to dream. Dare to hope. Dare to be a legend.

Book One in The Chosen Saga.

Review

Let me preface this by saying that I really hate giving books poor reviews. I want people to go out and read books despite what I say, but I also want to be an honest person.  So, sticking with the idea of honesty, I did not like this book.  It started off strong, the cover is beautiful, and the characters are enjoyable which I’ll get to that in more detail soon, but I had a hard time with this one the closer and closer I got to the end of the book.

The concept of the book is great. It is a magical fantasy world. The beginning of the feelings between Leonie and Korren is one of the things I really like because there is no instalove.  There are suggestions of feelings when they are “bonded,” but there is tension and occasional malice between the two of them, so you’re never really sure if it is going to turn into something.

I think a lot of the problems that I encountered in Girl of Myth and Legend may have to do with the fact that this is Giselle Simlett’s first novel. The dialogue is a little cliche and somewhat unoriginal. There is a random character that shows up near the end of the book that magically saves Leonie and Korren, and I just didn’t get it. I understand that this is going to be a series of books and there are things that are not explained for a reason, but it was still difficult to get through.  Toward the end of the book, I got irritated with it’s predictable and some of the contradictions that were present in the writing, and had a bit of a hard time finishing the last 10-15% of the novel.   

Characters

Leonie – Leonie is your typical, sarcastic teenager.  She has some really likable traits, especially if you are reading as a teenager or as someone who works with and loves teenagers.  She is strong and wants to be able to take care of herself even though Korren is supposed to be there to take care of her. She has a fire within her that Korren can’t stand, however, she is not without her weaknesses.  There are times that Simlett reminds us that she is just a teenager thrown into a very chaotic world.

Korren – Korren has a fire within him as well, but it is very different from that of Leonie’s fire. He has a vendetta that he wants to settle. He is frustrated with Leonie and frustrating as a character, but I found this about him extremely likeable. Korren is a tortured character; not knowing what to stay true to, his vendetta or his keeper, which makes him complex, and I’m interested to see how he grows as a character.

Rating

As I got more and more frustrated with this book, I was tempted to give it a D. Which is super rare.  Actually, I’ve never done it before.  I reminded myself to take a step back and look at the book as a whole piece of work, and once I did that I was able to evaluate it a little more objectively.  In the end, I have chosen to give it a C. I would like to read the next book in the series in the hopes that it is better than this one.  That some of the contradictions disappear, the plot holes are filled in, and the dialogue is fleshed out a bit more.

I would encourage those of you who think this book sounds interesting based on the synopsis to go out and read it.  I would love to hear what you think of it. Do you agree, do you disagree with me? Let me know in the comments. I always love book discussion.  

c grade

Happy Reading!
Erin

2 thoughts on “Girl of Myth and Legend

  1. Pingback: December Wrap-Up/January TBR | Unironically Excited

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 1/6/16 | Unironically Excited

Leave a Reply

