Book Review: Significance

Book Review: Significance by Shelly Crane

Thank you to Red Coat PR and NetGalley for the copy of this book.  It is the first book in the Significance series by Shelly Crane.  The other books are: Accordance (#2), Defiance (#3), Reverence (#3.5), Independence (#4), Consequence (#4.5),Undeniably Chosen (#5), and Undeniably Fated (#6).  

Synopsis

Maggie is a seventeen year old girl who’s had a bad year. Her mom left, her dad is depressed, she’s graduating, barely, and her boyfriend of almost three years dumped her for a college football scholarship. Lately she thinks life is all about hanging on by a thread and is gripping tight with everything she has.

Then she meets Caleb.

She saves his life and instantly knows there’s something about him that’s intriguing but she is supposed to be on her way to a date with his cousin. But things change when they touch, sparks ignite. Literally. They imprint with each other and she sees their future life together flash before her eyes. She learns that not only is she his soul mate, and can feel his heartbeat in her chest, but there is a whole other world of people with gifts and abilities that she never knew existed. She herself is experiencing supernatural changes unlike anything she’s ever felt before and she needs the touch of his skin to survive. Now, not only has her dad come out of his depression to be a father again, and a pain as well, but Caleb’s enemies know he’s imprinted and are after Maggie to stop them both from gaining their abilities and take her from him. Can Caleb save her or will they be forced to live without each other after just finding one another?

Review

I will admit to not having read the synopsis of this book at all before deciding to read it. I based my decision solely on the cover and the fact that it was identified as a YA/Teen novel on NetGalley, so I was a little thrown off when it became something that can only be described as a supernatural romance novel.  Based on the cover I thought it was going to be a straight romance novel, so I was pleasantly surprised when the supernatural piece was suddenly added in.  If you aren’t a fan of instalove and love triangles I am going to stop you right there, more than likely you are not going to like this one, so I am just letting you know that right up front. However, if you were or are a big fan of the Twilight series, I encourage you to read it.  I’ll talk more about that when I get to the characters.

The story takes place in Tennessee, and Maggie, the main character, has just graduated  from high school a year early with no idea what she’s going to do with her life next. I think Maggie’s parents are pretty awful; her mom just up and left the year before and her dad seems to be spiraling into a black hole of depression.  Neither of them seem to care much about Maggie anymore, and she is mainly raising herself.

The story feels a bit like Twilight fan fiction, but, fortunately, better. I apologize to all you Twilight die hard fans out there, but, let’s face it, the writing isn’t that great. To be honest, the writing in Significance wasn’t outstanding, but I liked it better because the story was new and something different.  When I say Twilight fan fiction, I’m not kidding. The similarities are uncanny. I’ll get to the character similarities in a minute, but here are some of the plot similarities: love triangle, instalove between a mortal and a supernatural being, etc.

 

Characters

Maggie – With the comparison to Twilight happening here, Maggie is very much like Bella. Luckily, she is only like Bella in the beginning. Once she discovers Caleb’s world, I think she becomes the opposite of Bella. She becomes this strong person who can stand on her own and wants to be a badass, and kind of is. The romance between Maggie and Caleb is outstanding!  

Kyle – If we’re talking Twilight, Kyle is Jacob in almost every way.  He is inferior to Caleb in looks and ability and maturity.  He is friend-zoned almost immediately, yet he continues to try and have a relationship with Maggie.  However, there are times I feel worse for Kyle than I ever felt for Jacob.

Caleb – And, sticking with the Twilight comparisons, Caleb is SO, SO much better than Edward! He isn’t nearly as annoying. In my head, he was significantly better looking than Edward ever was. I preferred to picture him as Jensen Ackles.

Marcus – Marcus, I’m pretty sure is and will continue to be a one dimensional character.  He is very focused on one thing in particular, and I don’t see that changing. Just note, he is easily hateable.

Rating

I give Significance by Shelly Crane an overall rating of a B-.  The story was entertaining, but again, it felt very much like Twilight fan fiction. Luckily, it was better than Twilight. It is a series, so when I have time, I would like to return to it because I do want to find out more about Maggie and Caleb.  Their relationship is really intriguing, and I just want to learn more.

Happy Reading!

Erin

 

One thought on “Book Review: Significance

  1. Pingback: January Wrap-Up/ February TBR | Unironically Excited

Leave a Reply

